bestfreeaisongmaker.com
bench:~$ open blog/which-ai-song-makers-export-stems

Which AI Song Makers Let You Export Stems, and What the Format List Really Says

Stem export and file format are separate questions on AI song makers. We read what each official pricing page states, tier by tier, and mark where the printed list stops.

> author: bestfreeaisongmaker.com Editorial team · published: 2026-10-16 · run: 2026.10 · fields: verified only

On the pricing pages read on 2026-10-16, one product lists stems as download files: Soundraw, on Artist Pro and Artist Unlimited. Suno lists stem separation from a finished mix. ElevenLabs lists stem counts by tier, and that mapping still needs a manual check. Mubert lists stem edits inside its editor with no stem file, and AIVA does not mention stems. Stem export and file format are separate questions, and this guide reads what each official page states, tier by tier, and marks where the printed list stops saying anything useful. “Free” here always means a vendor’s free plan, never royalty-free.

Three questions that get blurred

Separation and generation are different operations. Separation takes a finished mix and splits it into parts after the song exists. Generated stems means the tool produces the parts alongside the song, so each part is an output of the same generation rather than an estimate pulled from a mix. The third question is the file format: whether the download arrives as MP3, WAV or MIDI. Our method keeps all three apart. Separation earns 60 points on the stem dimension, generated stems earn 100, and format is scored separately with a 20 percent weight.

What the official pages list

The table uses only what each vendor’s pricing or licence page states on 2026-10-16. An empty claim on the page shows up as “not disclosed” in the cell.

Tool Stem wording on the page Lossless WAV Free-plan downloads Source
Suno Stem separation: 2 types on Pro, 3 types on Premier Not publicly disclosed No monthly song downloads suno.com/pricing
ElevenLabs Music 2 and 4 stems on Starter and Creator, up to 6 on Pro (tier mapping read from table text; manual check still to do) Listed as a feature; the tier is not confirmed 10k credits a month, about 11 minutes elevenlabs.io/music
Soundraw Stems on Artist Pro and Artist Unlimited Yes, from Artist Pro upward No free plan soundraw.io/pricing
Mubert Stem regeneration and removal inside the editor; no stem file listed Yes, from Creator upward 5 downloads a month, MP3 mubert.com/pricing
AIVA Not publicly disclosed Yes, on Pro 3 downloads a month, MP3 and MIDI aiva.ai/pricing

Two rows need care. Soundraw’s Artist Pro costs $35.99 a month, or $23.39 a month when billed yearly, and the page lists mp3, wav, stems for it. Mubert’s stem controls live inside its editor, and the pricing page names no stem file for download, so the method gives that row zero on the stem dimension even though the editing feature is real.

Why the scores look uneven

Under the method, Soundraw earns the full 25-point stem weight and the full 20-point format weight, but it loses all 20 free-tier points because it has no free plan. Suno earns 15 of the 25 stem points from separation alone and no format points, because its pricing page does not name download formats. ElevenLabs earns the full stem points from tier-listed stems, but that reading depends on the tier mapping, which still needs a manual check. Its lossless WAV tier is not clear in the text we could read, so its format line scores zero.

A zero in the format column can mean the product does not offer lossless audio, or it can mean the page does not say. The method treats both cases the same way. The table is where a reader tells them apart.

Read the free downloads with the licence

On Suno, the free tier offers a daily credit budget of 50, yet its pricing page lists no monthly song downloads and no commercial rights. Mubert’s free plan gives 25 tracks a month, 5 downloads, and MP3 only, and its licence is non-commercial. AIVA’s free plan gives 3 downloads a month in MP3 and MIDI, and its page says the copyright stays with AIVA and no monetization is allowed. In each case the download limit and the licence sit on the same page, so read them together.

A format is not a licence

A WAV file describes audio quality. It says nothing about who may use the file. Mubert is the clearest example in this set. Its Creator and Pro tiers list lossless WAV, yet its disclaimer states that tracks cannot be published on music streaming platforms, cannot be registered in any Content ID system, and cannot be sold. Its Pro line lists commercial usage, and the page does not reconcile that line with the disclaimer. Soundraw’s Creator plan lists commercial use and distribution to streaming services in the same feature block, and that is a different claim from a WAV line.

Two products can share a file format and carry different rights. Compare the licence lines first, then the format list.

A checklist before you pay

  1. Write down the stem wording as the page states it. Is it generated with the song, or separated from a mix?
  2. Find which tier holds the lossless format, and whether the free tier allows any download at all.
  3. Find the streaming and Content ID lines in the licence or terms text, not on the marketing page. Mark each one as stated, barred, or silent.
  4. Save a dated copy of the pricing and licence pages you rely on, with the read date. Prices change, and the copy shows what applied on the day you decided.
  5. Record the list price, not a promotion. On 2026-10-16 ElevenLabs showed a first month of Starter at $1, with an end date of Oct 18. The list price on the same page is $6 a month.
  6. Export and keep the files as you make them. A track you cannot download again is not a portable asset.

Evidence and method

The data source is each vendor’s official pricing or licence page, read on 2026-10-16. Suno’s terms come from the desk’s research record and were not re-read for this edition. The dimensions and weights are published on the method page: free-tier allowance 20, stem export 25, export formats 20, local or open-source operation 15, distribution disclosure 10 and commercial-rights tier 10. The limits are real. A page can change after the read date, and some plan figures render only in a browser. The table does not test whether any stem file sounds right, and it does not judge the quality of any output.

This guide is not legal advice. Read the licence text itself before you publish a track. The full comparison is on the home page, and the other guide is Local vs Cloud AI Music.

FAQ

Is stem separation the same as stem export?

No. Separation splits a finished mix into parts after the song already exists. Stem export means the platform hands you the stem files it produced together with the song. Suno lists separation on its paid plans, and ElevenLabs lists stem counts by tier. Under our method separation earns 60 points on the stem dimension and generated stems earn 100.

Which free plan lets you download audio files?

Mubert's free plan allows 5 downloads a month as MP3. AIVA's free plan allows 3 downloads a month as MP3 and MIDI. Suno's free plan lists no monthly song downloads at all.

Does a WAV label mean a song is free to sell?

No. A file format describes the audio, not the licence. Mubert lists lossless WAV on its paid tiers, yet its disclaimer bars streaming platforms and Content ID registration. Read the licence line next to the format list before you publish.

↑